2017 SPLOST Information

SPLOST page header image

Fayette County voters approved a six-year Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST) on March 21, 2017.


For the complete list of projects and their status click HERE.

SPLOST-Project-LIST Opens in new window

SPLOST_Budget Report

SPLOST Quick Facts

What is a SPLOST?

A county-wide 1¢, voter-approved "Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax" for a specific time that local governments can use to fund specific capital projects.

How will SPLOST funds be shared?

Fayette County and the municipalities of Brooks, Fayetteville, Peachtree City, and Tyrone share the SPLOST proceeds based on population. An intergovernmental agreement splits the estimated tax revenue as follows:

Fayette County$ 64,646,530
Peachtree City$ 45,472,835
Fayetteville$ 21,098,538
Tyrone$ 9,102,463
Brooks$ 693,791
Total$ 141,014,157

How will SPLOST funds be spent?

Each jurisdiction has identified its own list of projects to be built with the funds raised. Peachtree City identified capital improvements that will enhancequality of life in the community. Some of the projects, such as new path connections, have been identified for years, while others (path and street paving) will allow the City to catch up on maintenance that was deferred during the recession and return to a consistent maintenance schedule in the future. Who pays the SPLOST?

The SPLOST is paid by everyone who shops and dines in Fayette County, no matter where they live. This is different from a property tax, which is only paid by property owners in Fayette County.